A Year Gone By

Well, as with so many things in my life, good intentions don’t always come to fruition.  Life took a drastic turn for us last year with an addition of a family member for a month or so, then the garden took off, we added new animals (four chickens), school started back up come fall, my best friend (and garden buddy) moved away, the holidays, and here we are again at the beginning of a new year.

I would like to say maybe this blog will be a journal for this year’s gardening/homesteading endeavors, but I make no promises.  Life just seems to stay busy, even as we begin to approach the years with children leaving the nest.

I am starting to dream of spring, even though winter has really only just started here in Northern NY.  We had a very mild fall with little to no snow up until this past week.  Highly unusual when you live in the snow belt of Lake Ontario.  I am happy to announce that the ground has several inches of snow on the ground – although I heard something about the possibility of rain tomorrow.

The new members of our family aren’t too sure of this white stuff.  The first day we had any significant amount, they refused to leave their coop – leaving me stranded on how to feed and water them since that usually occurs in the run.  With some quick improvising, we managed to get food and water to them and all seems well.  Here is a picture of our coop taken shortly after the girls arrived last spring.

Image

I never thought chickens would be so amusing.  To watch them come running when you call them is quite a sight to see.  And having fresh eggs is amazing.  I hope I never have to go back to store bought eggs again.

Well, I could go on and on, but I’ll stop my ramblings for now.  Good to be back, I look forward to your comments again.

Until next time – Happy Gardening!

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in chickens, Gardening, Homesteading, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to A Year Gone By

  1. Deb says:

    What a WonderfuL Blog Dawn! Loved following your life.. so fun and interesting!! Looking forward to more…. :-

Leave a comment