Here a seed, there a seed, everywhere a seed, seed…

I’m trying to firm up my seed order so I can get it placed, but it’s so overwhelming Confused smile sometimes when you don’t really know much about the different varieties.  I already have quite a few seeds left over from last year, but I’m finding it’s fun to try new ones.  My grandparents always went with the same varieties and never saved seeds (at least as far as I know).

I came across this website today Vegetable Varieties for Gardeners put up by Cornell University.  You can search different plants and it brings up a brief description of the varieties that are available.  You can also refine your search so if you want just heirlooms, you can check that off.  Of course then you have to find a supplier but at least you can get an idea of what’s out there.  If you register with the site, you can also vote on the varieties.  I think I may be browsing this site quite a bit the next few days.

I am hoping to start some seeds this weekend.  I was reading that you can put your planted seeds on top of your refrigerator for a nice warm spot to start them, then move to your grow lights after they germinate.  Of course that means cleaning off the top of the refrigerators first.  Maybe I’ll tackle that tomorrow when I’m cleaning them out.  Winking smile 

Update on the worms.  I just ventured down to the abyss and am happy to report no more of the little buggers have decided to look for new digs.  I saw quite a few more babies and they seem to have found the new batch of food I put in there Monday.  So maybe it will be a success after all.  Laughing out loud

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  High five

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

