It’s in the Barrel

The rain barrel that is.  My bigger garden bed is quite a distance from the house, not to mention we are on a well here, so last year watering it was an issue.  I put some buckets at the garden to collect rain water, and filled gallon jugs every couple days that I hauled out.  This year however I want to put up a couple rain barrels.  Ideally I want one at each corner of my garden plus one out behind the house for my raised beds.  I don’t know if this will be enough, if not I’ll be hauling again.

I found some very simple directions on how to make your own barrel using a trash can on Mikes Garden Blog.  I think this is what I’m going to make.  I’ll put a screen across the top to keep bugs and such out, then hope we get rain to fill them up.  Maybe I can get a couple made before the snow melts and get a start with snow melt.  Guess I better price trash cans.

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  Storm cloud

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s in the Barrel

  1. katie says:

    This is crazy…I totally just got a rain barrel. Are you like my twin in another city? Lol. Having the super busy life that I do, I ordered one from a local guy. He’s since moved to greensboro. Simple peace rain barrels. I think he even has a kit to make your own. http://Www.rhynesantiques.com and ask for erik.

    • Garden Grower says:

      LOL – that’s too funny! I’m guessing you’ll be able to start collecting rain water sooner that I will. 😉

Leave a Reply

