Decisions, decisions…

I have spent a great deal of time between yesterday and today trying to find some good, understandable charts that tell you how many veggie plants you should put in if you want to provide for your family for a year.  Unfortunately I haven’t really found what I was looking for.  I even went to the extent of making my own spread sheet based on some of the information I found, but looking at it I don’t know how realistic it is.  If anyone out there has a good resource that is easy to use please share.  Winking smile

I’m back to square one I’m afraid.  So I think what I’m going to do is make a list of everything I want to plant starting with what my whole family will eat the most of and go down from there.  Then allow the most space to those veggies we’ll use and fill in with other stuff where space allows.

Without even thinking tomatoes will top that list.  We use a lot of them, at least once a week if not more often.  Between sauce, salsa, stewed, diced, paste, etc. I will need a lot.  Hopefully this will be a good year for them.  Two years ago we lost them to the blight and last year I had a lot of blossom end rot due I think to where I had them planted in the new tilled bed.  Will change how and where they will be this year.

I learned a few new things in doing my reading.  One is you shouldn’t really dig up your raised beds.  I have always taken my garden claw each spring and went through my beds, but this actually will bring up weeds.  I always wondered why they ended up being weedy.  You should just put a fresh layer of compost over the top of them then put in your plants.  One comment I read was for some reason the weeds don’t like to come up through the compost but veggie plants will.  Any weeds that do pop up, just pull them up or cut them off at the surface.  Also by planting a lot of things together and not in traditional narrow rows you will cut down on the weeds as well.  Will see how all that goes this year.

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  School

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Decisions, decisions…

  1. katie says:

    #1 im totally following you now as you seem to be going through what I am as well! 🙂

    #2 I decided to try all the veggies we usually eat and will probably plant more of things that I know that I can freeze and perhaps can. I’m in southwest va and there is a place that you can do your canning so im tempted to try it. 🙂

    • Garden Grower says:

      Canning is actually very simple once you get past the nervousness of doing it. I watched my grandmother and mother can for years but never actually tried it on my own until this past year. If you have a good canning book just follow the directions and you can’t go wrong. I’m sure I will do some blog posts on canning as the year progresses. 🙂 Thanks for following!

Leave a Reply

