Growing Up…

…on a trellis that is.  I love using a trellis in the garden and I’m hoping this year to incorporate the use of some more. 

Last year I made a simple trellis for my snow peas to climb and it was awesome (except I had a problem picking some of them as they were too high for me to reach (good thing I have a couple tall sons).

garden2010

You can see the little house shape here, how tall the peas already are – they continued on past that point and I had snow peas pretty much all summer long – even when I would have expected them to die off because of the heat.

I have another trellis along the long bed at the left.  Last year I added some additional support stakes for the tomatoes I put in there which worked fine but the year before I put my cucumbers in there and considering the late start I had that year, they did wonderfully and I’m thinking I may put them there again if I don’t get a new bed put in.

What I am really excited about trying is to trellis my tomatoes.  Normally I stake them but had real problems with them falling over this past year.  I didn’t have heavy duty stakes so it’s my fault.  I came across this great idea at Veggie Garden Tips that I’m hoping to try this year.  It looks pretty inexpensive and easy to do.  One more thing to add to my list.  I better start selling some stuff so I can afford all these little plans!  Eye rolling smile

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  Thumbs up

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Up…

  1. Janet says:

    Didn’t get mine staked last year either. Am hoping to this year. It will make a huge difference in the amount of space it takes up in my raised bed. They grew wonderfully….just all over the place!
    Hope to get some pictures off to you soon.
    Janet

Leave a Reply

