Planning

I tend to do things a bit differently than is considered “normal” (if there is a normal).  I like not working outside the home.  I homeschool my children.  I even enjoy having my children home with me (at least most of the time).  And, I like to garden in non-traditional ways.

I grew up living next door to my grandparents who at one time had a chicken farm.  They had pretty much retired from the egg business by the time I came around but continued to plant a huge garden every year.  That garden fed three or more families every year.  So I worked in the garden from a very young age.

I loved being out there with my grandparents, my parents, my aunt, and anyone else who happened to come along and help out.  I learned so much.  I would even go out and pull weeds for fun!  Confused smile

After I got married I still desired to garden every spring.  I put in a small bed at our first house – dug it all up by hand.  At our last home I did the raised beds.  That was something a bit out of the ordinary from the traditional gardens I had been raised with, but I received my grandmother’s blessing  and she would check out my progress every time they made a visit.

I was going to write a post on seeds this time around and was doing some research on the difference between heirloom and hybrid seeds when I came across an ebook titled Food4Life.  I don’t normally purchase things like this but I was intrigued and thought I would see if there was anything new I could learn as it appeared to be up my “different” way of gardening.

Many of the things he discusses I already knew, but I have also come across a few things I want to try this year.  He uses the same idea that the Lasagna Gardening book I mentioned yesterday does for preparing your beds.  He uses larger beds then The Square Foot Gardening book suggests, putting 1 foot wide rows every 3 to 4 feet.  I am considering trying this out this year in my large tilled area, then I won’t have to till but can still do my corn.

I also like the idea he has on planting.  Similar to The Square Foot Gardening but he takes it even further intermixing the plants for maximum space usage.  He even allows some of the plants to go to seed and let them come up on their own the following year.

So I think for this year I’m going to try some of his ideas and see what I think.  I will still have my little raised bed boxes, but if this works out better I may pull them up and put one larger bed in the back yard.  I’ll be sure and document everything for you as the year progresses.  I still have more to read in the book so if I glean anymore interesting tidbits I’ll be sure and share them with you.

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  Sun

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Planning

  1. Michele says:

    So which would be better for someone that kills everything that goes in the ground basically? I think I want to get a book to get an idea and would love to be able to get more then half a dozen tomatoes, two or three zucchinis and hand full of green peppers like last year.

    • Garden Grower says:

      I highly suggest the Lasagna Gardening book (you can borrow my copy if you want). It is a great starter book with lots of good information.

  2. Janet says:

    I purchased The Square Foot Gardening book last year and had a great time with the ideas for my 2 raised beds. There are some great charts in the back of the book. Not sure what I am going to grow in them next year. It was wonderful to be able to go out and pick just enough green beans for supper! Also mixed flowers in with the veggies so I have bouquets in the house all summer! The raised beds are great for a small family that just wants fresh veggies and doesn’t intend to do any canning from their own garden.
    By the way, Tim grew some heirloom tomatoes for me last year. They are wonderful! I definitely want some of them again this year.
    Love reading your posts!
    Janet

    • Garden Grower says:

      Very cool Janet! I did heirloom tomatoes too and they are the best (what few I got with the blossom end rot I had). Raised beds are much easier than traditional gardening.

Leave a Reply

