Oh What a Beautiful Day…

A glimpse of spring today.  Maybe it will be here soon!  I ventured out this afternoon to take advantage of warm temps.  I was actually rather warm in my sweatshirt!  I sorted some stuff on my back porch that I use for potting plants – I’ve been collecting boxes there for the garden.  I then ventured to my compost pile and gave it a turn.  Around the outer parts it was still frozen but deep inside it was nice and loose.  Threw on some kitchen scraps to give it a little green since I had already fed the worms this week.  Hopefully it will continue to cook down some more so it’s ready to go when the gardens are.

DSCN0541[1]

Doesn’t it look wonderful?

I checked out the raised beds that weren’t still covered in snow and the garlic is peeking through.  Then I took a walk around to the front of the house to my flower bed and was pleased to find the buds on the lilac trees, and the daffodils and tulips are poking up.

DSCN0542[1]

Daffodils

DSCN0544[1]

Tulips

I recruited my children to help me pick up some sticks in the yard then sent them off to play.  We have a huge quarry behind us that always becomes a lake in the spring so they headed down the hill to “build a bridge” to the “island” about eight feet into the “lake”.

DSCN0545[1]

I don’t think I want to know why the sled is down here.  My son thinks he needs a boat for his birthday – unfortunately by the time his birthday gets here the “lake” will be all dried up.

DSCN0546[1]

DSCN0547[1]

On the seed planting front my broccoli, cauliflower and onions have all germinated and are doing well but I’ll save that for another post.

Until next time – Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  Rainbow

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Homesteading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh What a Beautiful Day…

  1. atiekay says:

    We seemed to have stopped blogging around the same time. Hope all is well and that you will return soon! :)

Leave a Reply

