And the wormz have it…

I must confess, I have avoided writing about my worms since I got them because I was concerned I had done something wrong…  Sad smile

A little over a week ago I picked up some worms at Walmart.  I didn’t know if they were the red wriggler as the package didn’t specifically say they were but from what I could find on the internet it looked like they might be.  I think the package said there was about 30 worms per container. 

I brought them home and introduced them to their new home.  The next day I couldn’t resist heading down in the basement to see how they were settling in.  To my dismay  there were about 8 or so dead worms on my basement floor.  Sad smile  I was distressed!  Did I make the holes in the tub too big?  Was my bedding too wet for them?  Did they not like the moldy spaghetti I gave them?  Was the basement too cold.  You would have thought I lost my favorite pet!

I opened up the box, did a little search in the bedding and found some of them had dug down to where their food was, some were climbing the walls and I quickly shooed them back where they belonged.  They didn’t seem to react to the light like I had read they would (but the light source is a distance from their box so it may just not be bright enough).

A few days later I investigated again.  A couple more on the floor.  Crying face  I dug around again and found a few worms but they seemed to be barely moving when I picked them up.  A few even seemed lifeless.  Sigh…  It looked like I would have to order some (which I still may do).  I did find two that were mating (that was strange – lol). Embarrassed smile  I did do a little reading and found out that worms don’t actually eat the food you give them but the microorganisms that break down the food – like mold.  That made me feel better about the moldy spaghetti. 

This morning I had to go into the basement to check something and I couldn’t resist taking a peek at my houseguests.  Upon opening the lid I was greeted by a number of tiny little worms that were climbing the side of the box.  Babies?  Maybe.  I also dug around to check on their food supply because I my bucket was just about full and I wanted to feed them.  I  discovered the moldy spaghetti was no where to be found.  WOW – that was a shock. Surprised smile  Made me feel much better and the worms I did find seemed a bit more lively.  So maybe this will work after all.  I think I’m still going to order some worms this week that I know are red wrigglers.  Smile

My 12 year old son just walked by and asked what I was writing about.  I told him “my worms”.  He rolled his eyes Eye rolling smile and said “okay…?”.  My kids just don’t understand me – they take after their father.  Laughing out loud

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  Fingers crossed

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And the wormz have it…

  1. Carol says:

    That was an interesting post! Happy worm making….????

  2. Tammy says:

    The kids and I read this together. We felt bad that this was happening to you, but we couldn’t help chuckling either. I’m glad I haven’t made ours yet. I was wondering about the holes. Keep us posted please.

  3. Sue in Milan says:

    Have to say that my seed sowing tends to be a matter of just sticking them in and seeing what happens – not desperately scientific I’m afraid. But they usually come through.
    Welcome to Blotanical – hope being listed there brings you lots of readers. Did you know you have messages waiting?

    • Garden Grower says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m not always very scientific either. Thanks for the letting me know about the messages, haven’t had a chance to get back over there.

Leave a Reply

