Some serious problems here

A link came through today for the following article: The Santa Barbara Syndrome: Evidence of a Broken Food System.  If you haven’t seen it yet I encourage to read it (it’s short).

How sad Crying face is it that food grown in an area is shipped to other areas, and the food they eat is shipped in from other elsewhere?  And what is even more sad is this is happening across America.  My good friend first told me about trying to eat food that is locally grown and raised as much as possible.  She was reading the book Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life and I happened to have it on my shelf (found it at a thrift store and thought it looked interesting) so I started to read it as well.  It really made me start to do a lot of thinking about our food and where it’s coming from.

I must confess that I’m not always very good at trying to buy local or in season foods.  We still like our occasional chips and crackers, and there is just something about Florida grapefruit for breakfast, but I am trying to be more aware.  I buy less prepared foods and try to cook more from scratch when ever I can.  I would like to be able to grow enough food in my garden to last us through most of the winter.  We purchased locally raised beef last spring for the first time and I won’t go back to store bought if I don’t have to.  I would like to get some pork the same way as soon as I have some money for it. 

I am hoping this year to make better use of our local farmers market when it starts back up.  I’m all for the entrepreneur/farmer/stay at home working mom (I am all three after all Winking smile) trying to make ends meet.  We can all help each other out by first looking local – even if it costs a little more (just think what you’re saving in gas).  We can change where our food (and other things) come from, one household at a time and help our neighbors at the same time.

Until next time – Buy Local!  Left hugGift with a bowRight hug

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Homesteading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some serious problems here

  1. pobept says:

    It’s a 50 mile round trip to a larger town with shelf’s filled with produce from places like Mexico and Chile. It’s 7 miles round trip to my local small town market, they also have a nice selection of imported produce. Yet my friend will spend $7 or $8 dollars in gas to drive to the larger town’s market to save 5 or 10 cents a pound on tomato’s!

    I can’t understand why they will not support our local market by shopping and buying local.

    Happy spring gardening

  2. Tammy McLeod says:

    Great post. I think that people just really do not understand that there are long-term economic consequences for not buying local. In our state, there are so many small towns where Walmarts have wiped out the drug store, the clothing vendor, the bike shop, the local hardware, etc. Now the towns are filled with part-time workers who have no benefits and must use the state’s access health care which in term contributes to our state deficit.

  3. Katie says:

    agreed, great post! I am also going to be going to the farmer’s market more this year. We’ve got one that has opened up on wednesday nights once it starts getting warm. :)

Leave a Reply

