Tag–You’re It!

I had a few minutes here and decided to do a quick project – making tags for my plants this year.  I mentioned a link to this project a few weeks ago I think.  Very simple and I now have a lot of tags ready to go when I start to plant.  Last year I used wooden tongue depressors but they fell apart as they year went on.  Fortunately I knew by then what every thing was, but not necessarily what kind (important for seed saving).

I didn’t see much sense in spending money on some plastic ones when you can quickly make them with something you are likely to throw away anyhow.  We happened to have these cookie containers from our trip last week that I saved.  They worked great.  The one that is already cut up was from a 15oz Ricotta cheese container.

DSCN0359[1]

DSCN0360[1]

Just cut them up to what ever thickness you want, you can point the ends if you want and poof – plant tags!  Use a Sharpie to write what your plant is along with any other info you want to remember.  I’m going to put the date I started, germination time, and when they should be ready to harvest.   These three containers gave me a lot, might even be enough for my entire season but I do have a container of cottage cheese in the fridge I may cut a few more – just to be safe!  Nerd smile

Until next time – Happy Gardening!  Clock

About Garden Grower

A wife and mother of 5 who enjoys getting her hands dirty in the garden.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tag–You’re It!

  1. Noelle says:

    I love how you created your own plant tags. I usually use wooden craft sticks and then add them to the compost pile, but sometimes they don’t hold up for the whole season. This is a good alternative for plants that will be around for most of the growing season.
    Thanks!

  2. I’ve used everything from bleach and laundry detergent bottles to slats from mini blinds. On thing I did find out was the Sharpie fades and becomes unreadable. I got a can of clear spray acrylic, and I give the tags a light spritz over the writing, and that works to preserve them. I say LIGHT spritz, a heavy one makes the Sharpie ink run.

  3. Tammy says:

    Since the Sharpie fades, a paint pen might be better?:-)

    • Garden Grower says:

      Hey Tammy, I don’t know how the paint pens would work, worth trying out if you have them on hand. I just took a peek at the worms and I haven’t seen any new ones who have moved out so hopefully they have decided it’s an okay place to live. I can’t believe all the little ones I’m finding. Hopefully they will grow quickly and eat lots! :-) Thanks for reading, I’m glad you and the kids have enjoyed the posts!

Leave a Reply

